The ASC Bulletin is introducing Getting to Know Your ASC Committees in the next few issues. Highlighted in the July issue are the Cytotechnology  Programs Review Committee, chaired by Karen Atkison, MPA, CT(ASCP)CMIAC, and the Membership Committee, co-chaired by Kristen E. Natale, DO and James M. Riding, BS, SCT(ASCP).

Welcome to the Cytotechnology Programs Review Committee & the Membership Committee!

The Cytotechnology Programs Review Committee (CPRC), sponsored by the American Society of Cytopathology (ASC), American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP), American Society for Cytotechnology (ASCT), and the College of American Pathologists (CAP), includes representation from these sponsoring organizations that have a stake in cytology education. The CPRC is recognized as the Committee on Accreditation for the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP).

The primary charge of the CPRC is to conduct activities related to the accreditation of Cytotechnology training programs. The CPRC works with CAAHEP to ensure that Programs accredited by CAAHEP are in compliance with the Standards and Guidelines for the Accreditation of Educational Programs in Cytotechnology.

Currently, the CPRC is focused on the revision of the Standards and Guidelines, a multi-year and faceted process, which will move cytology education to a mandated Master’s degree curriculum.  Once final feedback from communities of interest is integrated into the Standards and Guidelines, the CPRC will submit this version of the Standards and a Letter of Justification to the CAAHEP Standards Committee for their review.

Other Standards-relevant assignments are in process to include a Glossary of terms and acronyms to assist Program officials, and a Best Practices Guide and Communication Guide, which will include Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs), explanations and suggestions for guidelines that will be removed from the current Standards.

With the impending Standards and Guidelines revisions, the CPRC is working with the CELL Resource Subcommittee to reevaluate their Responsibilities and Initiatives and assist them as they make plans to revitalize the CELL Website to be supportive of the new Standards and Guidelines.

The Strategies in Cytotechnology Education session held normally during the ASC Annual Scientific Meeting will be virtual this year due to complications from the COVID-19 pandemic.  Stay tuned for more information about webinars leading up to this final session in early November, sponsored by the CPRC.

Finally, at the conclusion of the CPRC Annual Meeting on November 8, 2020, Karen Atkison will rotate off the CPRC after an impressive nine years commitment to cytology education, and current Vice Chair Amber Donnelly, PhD, MPH, SCT(ASCP), will become the CPRC Chair, providing a smooth transition.


The Membership Committee, Co-Chaired by Kristen E. Natale DO and James M. Riding BS SCT(ASCP) determines the eligibility of applicants for mem­bership in the Society, recommends those qualified for membership, and plan/implement strategies to recruit new junior and full medical members.

The following goals were set for 2019-2020:

  • To promote and encourage members to use the auto renewal feature for membership dues. This will greatly reduce the number of lost members who fail to renew.
  • Evaluate and promote the Member Lab discount
  • Use social media to promote goals.


Committee members have reviewed and approved 292 new members since July 2019.